Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Hillsborough County

If you need to file a mechanics lien with the Hillsborough County Clerk, you’ll be pleased to know that you most likely have strong lien rights under Florida law. Almost every participant on a project is covered; however, there are a few aspects of Florida lien law that you should be aware of before preparing your lien claim.

Just like every other state, Florida has its own set of rules, regulations, and limitations regarding lien rights. Here are a few things to keep in mind:

  1. You must send a notice to owner before filing a mechanics lien. This Florida NTO needs to be sent soon after furnishing labor and materials for the project, and failure to do so could strip you of your lien rights.
  2. You need to adhere to the 90 day deadline when filing a mechanics lien. More specifically, contractors must file their mechanics liens within 90 days of last work, contrary to other states in which the deadline is triggered by the end of the entire project.
  3. Not everyone on the project has lien rights. Sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, unlicensed contractors who are required to be licensed, and maintenance workers are not covered.
  4. Overestimating the lien amount is a 3rd degree felony. This is illegal in all states, but it’s especially heinous in Florida. Only include the cost of labor and materials, and nothing more. Otherwise, you could face some hefty consequences.

You can read more about these laws on our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page.

Recording a mechanics lien in Hillsborough County is a straightforward process. It’s important that you get the information right so the process is as quick and hassle-free as possible. To help you get started, this page introduces you to the Hillsborough County Clerk. Here, you can find Hillsborough County’s recording requirements, formatting standards, filing and copy fees, addresses, phone numbers, and learn how you can record by mail or eFile your mechanics lien with Levelset.

If you’re looking for a total breakdown of the filing process, visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida.

Where is the Hillsborough County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

There are 5 offices in Hillsborough County at which mechanics liens can be filed in person:

Hillsborough Clerk of Court and Comptroller
301 N Michigan Ave
Plant City, FL 33563
Phone: 813-276-8100
Hours: Monday – Friday 8 am – 5pm

Edgecomb Courthouse
800 E. Twiggs St, Room 101
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: 813-276-8100
Hours: Monday – Friday 8 am – 5pm

Old Courthouse
419 Pierce St
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: 813-276-8100
Hours: Monday – Friday 8 am – 5pm

Brandon Regional Service Center
311 Pauls Drive, Suite 110
Brandon, FL 33511
Phone: 813-276-8100
Hours: Monday – Friday 8 am – 4pm

SouthShore Regional Service Center
410 30th St. SE
Ruskin, FL 33570
Phone: 813-276-8100
Hours: Monday – Friday 8 am – 4pm

Additionally, mechanics liens can be filed by mail at the following address:

P.O. Box 3249
Tampa, FL 33601-3249

What is Hillsborough County's Recording Backlog?

Although the Hillsborough County Clerk and Comprtoller’s Office doesn’t publish any information regarding recording backlogs, you can use the ClerkExpress tool to reserve a spot in line at home and save yourself some time.

Hillsborough County’s ClerkExpress tool can be found here:

https://www.hillsclerk.com/about-us/service-options-and-locations

Should I file my mechanics lien in Hillsborough County?

If the project is located in Hillsborough county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Hillsborough County, Florida Clerk’s Office.

What are Hillsborough County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Hillsborough County Clerk and Comptroller’s Office has a long list of requirements for recording, but only a handful apply to mechanics liens. They are:

1. Include the date.

2. The name and address of each person signing an instrument affecting real property.

3. The name and address of each person receiving property on all documents conveying an interest in real property.

4. Include the legal description of the property, which can be obtained from the Clerk and Comptroller’s Office.

5. The signed and typed names are in agreement.

6. Notary Public seal and expiration date.

7. Name and address of the natural person who prepared the instrument or under whose supervision it was prepared.

8. A three (3) inch square is required on all documents at the top right-hand corner on the first page and a 1×3 inch space at top right-hand corner on each subsequent page for use by the Clerk.

9. A self-addressed, stamped envelope of sufficient size for the return of the recorded documents.

Additionally, liens must include the following information by default:

1. A statement of the labor and materials furnished for the project.

2. The lien amount.

3. If you’re being represented by an attorney, include their name and address.

4. A copy of the Notice to the Owner, which is required under Florida law before filing a mechanics lien.

5. The Statutory Warning, also required under Florida law, which is as follows:

“THIS LEGAL DOCUMENT REFLECTS THAT A CONSTRUCTION LIEN HAS BEEN PLACED ON THE REAL PROPERTY LISTED HEREIN. UNLESS THE OWNER OF SUCH PROPERTY TAKES ACTION TO SHORTEN THE TIME PERIOD, THIS LIEN MAY REMAIN VALID FOR ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE OF RECORDING, AND SHALL EXPIRE AND BECOME NULL AND VOID THEREAFTER UNLESS LEGAL PROCEEDINGS HAVE BEEN COMMENCED TO FORECLOSE OR TO DISCHARGE THIS LIEN.”

6. Lastly, your signature and notorization.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Hillsborough County?

The Hillsborough County Clerk and Comptroller’s Office outlines the following formatting standards for mechanics liens and all other documents to be recorded:

Paper size may not exceed 8.5 x 14.

A three (3) inch square is required on all documents at the top right-hand corner on the first page and a 1×3 inch space at top right-hand corner on each subsequent page for use by the Clerk.

How can I make payment to the Hillsborough County Clerk?

The Hillsborough County Clerk and Comptroller’s Office accepts the following forms of payment:

Cash
Credit/debit
Check

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Hillsborough County?

The recording fees for Hillsborough County are as follows:

Recording

$10 for the first page
$8.50 for each following page

Lis Pendens

$5 for the first page
$4 for each additional page

Copies

$2 for each year searched
$1 per page
$2 for certifying each document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Hillsborough County Clerk's Office?

You can get a recorded copy of your lien in Hillsborough County by:

Going to the office in person at:

301 N Michigan Ave
Plant City, FL 33563
Phone: 813-276-8100

Sending a request by mail at:

P.O. Box 3249
Tampa, FL 33601-3249

Or by calling the office and ordering by credit card at:

(813) 276-8100, ext. 7805

If you do not require a certified copy, you can search the official records online at the following address:

https://pubrec6.hillsclerk.com/ORIPublicAccess/customSearch.html

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hillsborough, Florida ?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hillsborough County, Florida.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Hillsborough County?

In Hillsborough County, Florida, the deadline to file a mechanics lien depends on when you completed the project. A direct contractor must record his claim of lien after completion of the direct contract, and either ninety (90) days after completion of the work of improvement, or sixty (60) days after the owner records a Notice of Completion or Cessation; whichever is sooner.

A claimant other than a direct contractor must record his mechanics’ lien after the claimant ceases to provide work, and either: ninety (90) days after completion of the work of improvement,or, thirty (30) days after the owner records a Notice of Completion or Cessation; whichever is earlier.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Hillsborough to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
All Green Nursery
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
82 / 100
View
Duke Realty
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
General Growth Properties
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
73 / 100
View
Pepsi Bottling Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
66 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them