Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Hamilton County

The construction industry is plagued by non-payment and slow payment. If the construction project was located in Hamilton County and you haven’t gotten paid yet, one of the best tools you have to speed things up is to file a lien claim with the Hamilton County Clerk. The first step when preparing a lien claim is always research. This page helps you orient yourself with some of Florida’s lien laws and the Hamilton County Clerk’s requirements.

To get started, here are a few features of Florida’s lien law that limit who can and who can’t file a mechanics lien:

  1. Florida contractors need to submit a notice to owner, or NTO, to the property owner. This NTO functions like a preliminary notice, and the deadline to submit one is 45 days after first work on the construction project. Failure to do this could mean that you lose your lien rights.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Florida is 90 days after last work. In other states, this deadline is triggered by the official end of the construction project, but Florida is different.
  3. Some participants in a construction project don’t have the right to file a lien claim. This includes sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors who perform work that requires a license. 
  4. Overstating the amount on your lien claim is a 3rd degree felony under Florida lien law.

For a comprehensive explanation of these rules or to find the correct lien documents, visit our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page.

Now that you’ve studied Florida lien law, it’s time to get to know the Hamilton County Clerk. This page includes the Hamilton County Clerk’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording fees, and contact information as well as information as to how you can eFile your lien claim with Levelset in a few clicks.

Lastly, refer to our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida if you’re looking for a deep dive into the entire mechanics lien process.

Where is the Hamilton County Clerk's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at the Hamilton County Clerk’s office in person located at:

207 N.E. First Street, Suite106
Jasper, FL 32052

Contact:

Recording:

Phone: 386-792-0851
386-792-0856

E-mail: hillv@flcjn.net
padgettrs@flcjn.net

What is Hamilton County's Recording Backlog?

The Hamilton County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Hamilton County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Hamilton county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Hamilton County Clerk’s office.

What are Hamilton County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Hamilton County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Hamilton County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Hamilton County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Hamilton County?

The Hamilton County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page or fraction.

Copy Fees

Copies up to and including 8 1/2” x 14”: $1.00 per page

Certifying copies, per instrument: $2.00

How can I make payment to the Hamilton County Clerk?

You can make payment to the Hamilton County Clerk when submitting your lien claim. The Hamilton Clerk accepts most major forms of payment including cash, check, and major credit cards.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Hamilton County?

The Hamilton County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page or fraction.

Copy Fees

Copies up to and including 8 1/2” x 14”: $1.00 per page

Certifying copies, per instrument: $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Hamilton County's Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien from the Hamilton County Clerk’s office in person located at:

207 N.E. First Street, Suite 106
Jasper, FL 32052

You can also search the County Clerk’s official records online and order a copy at https://www.myfloridacounty.com/ori/index.do

 

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hamilton, Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hamilton, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hamilton County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Hamilton County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Hamilton is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Hamilton to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Curran Young Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
66 / 100
View
G Swanson Construction Inc
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Lego Construction Company
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
Scherer Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
73 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them