Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Broward County

If you need to file a mechanics lien the the Broward County Clerk, we have good news: Florida grants contractors and suppliers strong lien rights! This helps out a lot to speed up payment and get you the money you’re owed after a construction project.

However, there are a few aspects of Florida lien law that make it a little tricky to navigate. Here are four of the main points:

  1. Notices to owner are required. This is also known as a preliminary notice, and failure to submit one to the owner means losing your mechanics lien rights.
  2. Liens must be filed within 90 days of last work on a construction project. In Florida, lien claimants must file within 90 days of the last furnishing of labor, materials, or provided services on a project.
  3. Not everyone is covered. Sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-subcontractors, unlicensed contractors, and maintenance workers do not have the right to file a lien claim.
  4. Overestimating the amount on your mechanics lien a felony. Only include the cost of materials and labor that you furnished for the project.

You can read more about these laws on our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page.

This page provides you with information regarding the Broward County Clerk of Courts. Here, you can find office addresses, mailing addresses, Broward County recording requirements, page size and margin requirements, recording fees, as well as information regarding eRecording and eFiling your lien with Levelset in a matter of a few clicks.

To learn more about the lien process in general or find out which lien documents you need, refer to our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida.

Where is the Broward County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanic liens at the Broward County Clerk’s office in person located at:

201 SE 6th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Business Hours
Monday-Friday:
8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m/
Excluding Holidays

You can also mail your document with the recording fees and documentary stamp taxes along with a self-addressed stamped envelope, for the return of your document to:

Clerk of Courts
201 SE 6th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

 

What is Broward County's Recording Backlog?

The Broward County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Broward County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Broward county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Broward County Clerk’s Office.

What are Broward County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Broward County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Broward County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Broward County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Broward County?

All documents must be no larger than 8 1/2″ x 14″. Every document must have a three-inch square white space on the top right hand corner of the first page of each document and a one-inch square white space on the top right hand corner of each subsequent page of the document. This space is needed to apply computerized recording information; documents without sufficient white space must be returned to you, unrecorded.

How can I make payment to the Broward County Clerk?

The Broward County Clerk generally accepts most major forms of payment including cash, check, and credit card. You can make payment to the Broward County Clerk in person when submitting your lien claim.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Broward County?

The Broward County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees
For Indexing Instruments Recorded in the Official Records which contain more than four names, per additional name: $1.00

Copy Fees
Copy of an Official Record for each page not more than 8 ½ x 14 inches: $1.00
For Certifying Copies of any Instruments in the Official Records: $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Broward County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien from the Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division in person:

115 S. Andrews Ave.
Room 114 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

You can also search Broward County’s Official records online at https://officialrecords.broward.org/AcclaimWeb

Note that records prior to 1978 are not yet computerized and can be accessed in only two ways, by coming to the office or by written request.

Images of recorded documents can be viewed and copied free of charge directly from the website or in person at 115 S. Andrews Ave., Room 119, where you can view the images stored in the County Clerk’s database or earlier images stored digitally.

Copy fees and certified fees are charged when provided by the County Clerk’s Search and Copy section.

Once you locate the document you need, if you need a better quality copy or a certified copy, you can purchase one from Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division.

To purchase a certified or better quality copy, submit a written request for the document to:

Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division
Attention: Search and Copy Section
115 S. Andrews Ave., Room 114
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Include a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return of your copy(s). Checks or money orders are to be made payable to (B.O.C.C.) Board of County Commissioners.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Broward County, FL?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Broward County, FL.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Broward County?

The filing fee to record and file a Florida Notice to Owner (Preliminary Notice) is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Broward to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Curran Young Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
66 / 100
View
Duke Realty
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
Owen Ames Kimball Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
68 / 100
View
District School Board of Pasco County
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them