Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Baker County

If you’re facing non-payment after a construction project in Baker County, FL, you may want to consider filing a lien claim with the Baker County Clerk. The mechanics lien is one of your most effective tools for freeing up payment, however, it’s important that you research Florida lien law and the Baker County Clerk’s requirements. This helps the process go much smoother.

To begin, here are four of the most important limitations that you should be aware of:

  1. Florida is a preliminary notice state. Preliminary notices are known as notices to owner (NTOs) in Florida, and contractors must send one to the property owner no later than 45 days after work begins on the construction project. Failure to do this could cost you your lien rights. 
  2. The deadline to record a lien claim is determined by the date of last work. Lien claimants have 90 days after the last work or materials were furnished for a construction project to file a mechanics lien.
  3. Some project participants don’t have the right to file a mechanics lien. Unfortunately, sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors who are doing work that requires one will not be able to record a lien claim.
  4. Overestimating the amount on your lien claim is a felony in Florida.

There’s much more to these rules, so we recommend you check out or Florida Lien Laws FAQ page for a more complete explanation. You can also find the lien documents you need there.

The Baker County Clerk has it’s own set of requirements that you should know as well. Below, you can find a list of frequently asked questions that inform you of the Baker County Clerk’s recording requirements, recording fees, page size and margin requirements, and contact information.

You can learn more about the mechanics lien filing process as a whole on our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida.

Where is the Baker County Clerk's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at the Baker County Clerk’s office in person located at the following address:

339 E Macclenny Ave
Macclenny, FL 32063

What is Baker County's Recording Backlog?

The Baker County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Baker County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Baker county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Baker County Clerk’s office.

What are Baker County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Baker County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Baker County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Baker County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Baker County?

The margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Baker are: All documents must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size and must be no larger than 8 1/2″ x 14″. The top margin of the first page should be 3 inches with all other margins as 1 inch. Not meeting these margin and page size requirements may result in additional fees.

How can I make payment to the Baker County Clerk?

You can make payment to the Baker County Clerk when submitting your lien claim. The Baker County Clerk accepts most major forms of payment including cash, check, and major credit cards.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Baker County?

The Baker County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Lien Fees

Transfer of Lien: $20.00
Each Additional Lien: $15.00

Copy Fees

Copy of Public Records Not More Than 14X 8 1/2“: $1.00
Certifying Copy in Public Record: $2.00

 

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Baker County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien from the Baker County Clerk’s office in person located at the following address:

339 E Macclenny Ave.
Macclenny FL 32063

You can also search Baker County Clerk’s Official Records online at:

https://www.myfloridacounty.com/official_records/index.html?thisPage=MyFloridaCounty.ORI.Order.state.Start

You can use a document number, otherwise you can browse records by county, person’s name, etc. Many documents are available for download. Otherwise you will receive the documents by mail within 3-5 business days.

You can pay by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, AMEX or Discover) or debit card.

 

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Baker, Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Baker, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Baker County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Baker County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Baker is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Baker to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Sunrise Homes Corporation
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
All Green Nursery
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
82 / 100
View
Duke Realty
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
Roof Care of Central Florida
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them