Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Plumas County

Where is the Plumas County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Plumas County Clerk-Recorder’s office located at:

520 Main Street
Room 102
Quincy, CA 95971

Phone: (530) 283-6218

Recording Hours
8:30 a.m to 4 p.m.

What is Plumas County's Recording Backlog?

The Plumas County Clerk-Recorder does not publicly disclose information on its recording backlog. If you want to see how long it would take the county to process your lien, you can give them a call at (530) 283-6218 for an estimated time.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Plumas County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Plumas county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Plumas County Recorder’s office.

What are Plumas County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Plumas County you should 1) Meet all California Mechanics Lien requirements including having sent a 20-day Preliminary Notice. 2) Meet all county document filing requirements, which include printing your lien on 8.5 x 11 inch paper using .5 inch margins, except at the top of the first page where you should use a 2.5inch margin. 3) Pay all appropriate and required filing fees for the county to record your document.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Plumas County?

The page size requirements for all documenst must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size. Documents including any page not 8 1/2″ x 11″ are charged a standard fee. The margin requirements are 2.5 inches at the top of the first page with .5 margins on all other sides. All other pages should use .5 margins on all sides.

How can I make payment to the Plumas County Recorder?

The Plumas County Clerk – Recorder’s Office accepts credit cards for online orders at 530-283-6218. Documents presented for recording without proper fees will be returned unrecorded.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Plumas County?

The Plumas County Clerk-Recorder’s regular recording fee is $15.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Penalty pages: $3.00 for each page that is not 8 1/2′ x 11″

Indexing fees: $1.00 for each reference

$1.00 for each group of 10 names, or fraction thereof, after initial group of 10 names

Release of lien (if original lien was recorded with no fee): $19.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $1.00 for each page
Certification: $1.75 per document
Conformed copy: no fee (if copy and stamped envelope are provided)

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Plumas County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Plumas County Clerk-Recorder’s in person, subject to copy fees. The copy fees are $1 for each page and if you would like your document certified, that’s an additional $1.75 per document.

The County Clerk – Recorder’s Office also accepts credit cards for online orders at 530-283-6218.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Plumas County, CA?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Plumas County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Plumas County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Plumas County is $20.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Plumas to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
B.R. & Co.
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
95 / 100
View
84 Lumber
Rating 5.0
D
Payment Score
53 / 100
View
Salt Shed Design Build
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Bovee Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them