Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Lassen County

Where is the Lassen County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Lassen County Clerk-Recorder’s office located at:

Historic Courthouse
220 S Lassen Street Suite 5
96130 Susanville , CA

Main Number
(530) 251-8217
County Recorder
(530) 251-8234

Public Office Hours: Monday – Friday 9 a.m. to 12:00 Noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Recording hours: 10 a.m. to 12 Noon and 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Phone hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (All local calls will be returned)

What is Lassen County's Recording Backlog?

The Lassen County Clerk-Recorder does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Lassen County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Lassen county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Lassen County Recorder’s office.

What are Lassen County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally the requirements for filing a lien in Lassen County include: 1) meeting all statutory requirements for filing a lien in California. That means sending out a 20-day Preliminary Notice to the appropriate recipients depending on your role on the job and the type of project. We’ve written about California 20-Day Preliminary Notice requirements you can learn more about on that page. 2) Meet the county’s document formatting requirements, which includes 1 inch margin at the top of the first page of your mechanics lien and .5inch margins on all other sides of the first page. Additionally, all other pages of your mechanics lien filing should have .5 inches. 3) Pay all appropriate filing fees in Lassen County when filing the lien.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Lassen County?

All documents must comply with the 8 1/2 X 11″ standard page size. A fee will be charged for each page that is not 8 1/2 X 11″.

The first page of the mechanics lien document package should have a 1 inch margin at the top of the page and .5 inch margins on the other sides. All other pages of your mechanics lien filing should have .5 inches.

How can I make payment to the Lassen County Recorder?

The Lassen County recorder accepts most forms of payment including cash, check, money order, and most major credit cards. You can pay the fee when filing your lien at the county office.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Lassen County?

The Lassen County Clerk-Recorder’s regular recording fee is $86.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Oversize Documents: $10.00 for the first page with size over 8 1/2 x 11 and $6.00 for each additional page

Penalty Print (Nine lines per vertical inch or 22 characters per inch horizontally): $1.00 per page

Indexing Fees: $1.00 for each reference to a previously recorded document that gives names other than the first reference

$1.00 for each group of 10 names or fraction thereof

Release of Tax Liens

Govt. Code 27361.3) (Govt. Code 27388.1): $11.00
Out of State Lien/Release: $7.00
Federal Lien / Releases: $7.00

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $1.50 for the first page and $0.50 for each additional page
Certification: $1.75
Conformed Copy: No Fee (only one copy will be conformed)

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Lassen County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Lassen County Clerk-Recorder’s office located at:

Historic Courthouse
220 S Lassen Street Suite 5
96130 Susanville , CA

Main Number
(530) 251-8217
County Recorder
(530) 251-8234

Public Office Hours: Monday – Friday 9 a.m. to 12:00 Noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Recording hours: 10 a.m. to 12 Noon and 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Phone hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (All local calls will be returned)

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Lassen County, California?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Lassen County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Lassen County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Lassen County is $40.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Lassen to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Anderson Construction & Development
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
One Workplace
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
Jrp Design And Remodel, Inc
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Bay City Mechanical Inc.
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them