Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Inyo County

Where is the Inyo County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Inyo County Clerk-Recorder’s office located at:

168 N. Edwards Street
Independence, CA 93526

Phone Numbers:
For general information, phone (760) 878-0222
For questions about Recording, phone (760) 878 -0410

Fax Number:
(760) 878-1805

If you have any questions contact the office during regular business hours of 8:00 am – 12:00 pm & 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Monday through Friday, excluding State and Federal Holidays.

What is Inyo County's Recording Backlog?

The Inyo County Clerk-Recorder does not publicly disclose backlog on recording information.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Inyo County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Inyo county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Inyo County Recorder’s office.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Inyo County?

The margin and paper size requirements for filing a mechanics lien in Inyo County include: 1) document printed on a 8.5 x 11 inch paper 2) top margin of the first page being 2.5 inches and all other margins .5 inches. Every other page should use .5 inch margins.

How can I make payment to the Inyo County Recorder?

The Inyo County recorder accepts cash, check, money order, and most major credit cards.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Inyo County?

The Inyo County Clerk-Recorder’s regular recording fee is $13.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Non-conforming page size: $3.00 for each page that is not 8-1/2 x 11″.

Penalty print: $1.00

Indexing fee: $1.00 for additional indexing

Release of no-fee lien: $11.00

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $1.00 per page
Certification (in addition to copy fees): $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Inyo County's Recorders Office?

To obtain a recorded copy of your lien, you can visit the Inyo County Clerk-Recorder’s office in person located at:

168 N. Edwards Street
Independence, CA 93526

Phone Numbers:
For general information, phone (760) 878-0222
For questions about Recording, phone (760) 878 -0410

Fax Number:
(760) 878-1805

If you have any questions contact the office during regular business hours of 8:00 am – 12:00 pm & 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm Monday through Friday, excluding State and Federal Holidays.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Inyo County, CA?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Inyo County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Inyo County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Inyo County is $8.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Inyo to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Morris Company
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
Garrison Walker Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
The Real
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Driver Spg
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
56 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them