Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Imperial County

Where is the Imperial County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Imperial County Clerk/ Recorder’s office located at:

940 W. Main Street, Suite 202
El Centro, CA 92243-2839
Tel: (442) 265-1076
Fax: (442) 265-1091
Public Business Hours:
Monday to Friday 8 AM to 5PM

Recording & Examining Division (442) 265-1077

What is Imperial County's Recording Backlog?

The Imperial County Clerk/ Recorder does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Imperial County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Imperial county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Imperial County Recorder’s office.

What are Imperial County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, in order to file a mechanics lien in Imperial County: 1) All margin and document requirements must be met including 2.5 inches of margin at the top of the first page and .5 inch margins on every other page. The lien should be printed on 8.5 x 11 paper or be potentially subject to a fine. 2) All filing fees must be paid to the Imperial County Recorder which are $24 for the first page and $3 for every page after that. 3) All California Mechanics Lien requirements must be met including having sent a California 20-day Preliminary Notice.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Imperial County?

All documents must comply with the 8 1/2” x 11” standard page size and not to to exceed 8 1/2″ x 14″. A fee will be charged for each page that is not 8 1/2” x 11”. The top margin of the first page should be 2.5 inches with the margins for the other edges .5 inches. All other pages of your mechanics lien document should be .5 inches on all sides. Failing to meet these margin requirements may result in an additional fee when filing your document and maybe delay processing of your document.

How can I make payment to the Imperial County Recorder?

The Imperial County Recorder accepts cash, money order, and most major credit cards.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Imperial County?

The Imperial County Clerk/Recorder’s basic recording fee is $14.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Non-conforming Page Size: $3.00 for each page that is not exactly 8 1/2 X 11 but does not exceed 8 1/2″ X 14″

Penalty Print: $1.00 per page with small print

Indexing Fees: $14.00 for each recording reference requiring additional indexing

$1.00 for every group of 10 names or fraction thereof

Release of State Liens: $12.00

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $2.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page
Certification under seal: $2.50
Conformed Copy: $1.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Imperial County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Imperial County Clerk/Recorder’s office located at:

940 W. Main Street, Suite 202
El Centro, CA 92243-2839
Tel: (442) 265-1076
Fax: (442) 265-1091

Public Business Hours:
Monday to Friday 8 AM to 5PM

Recording & Examining Division
Tel: (442) 265-1077

Note that an identifying document number or book and page number must be provided in order to retrieve a copy of an official record.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Imperial County, CA?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Imperial County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Imperial County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Imperial County is $75.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Imperial to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Morris Company
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
Amazon
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
C.W. Driver Companies
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
95 / 100
View
Calibuilt Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them