Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Humboldt County

Where is the Humboldt County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person or by mail.

In Person

You can submit your documents in person at the Recorder’s Office between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. excluding holidays and weekends.

The Recorder’s Office is located at:

825 5th Street
5th Floor
Eureka, CA 95501
(707) 445-7593

Note that documents that cannot be processed by 5:00 p.m. will be held (along with the proper payment of fees to be recorded on the following business day.

By Mail

You can also submit your lien documents by mail to:

County Clerk-Recorder
825 5th Street
5th Floor
Eureka, CA 95501
(707) 445-7593

What is Humboldt County's Recording Backlog?

The Humboldt County Recorder does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. However, be aware of the recording process and turnaround mailing times for documents submitted both in person or by mail.

Record in Person:

Documents that cannot be processed by 5:00 p.m. will be held (along with the proper payment of fees to be recorded on the following business day. Each recorded document is returned two weeks after the date of recording. Documents that do not meet recording requirements are returned immediately to the submitter.

Record by Mail:

Documents received by mail are generally recorded within 48 hours of being received. (excluding holidays and weekends). Each recorded document is returned two weeks after the date of recording. Documents that do not meet recording requirements are generally returned within 3 days of being received.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Humboldt County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Humboldt county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Humboldt County Recorder’s office.

What are Humboldt County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

All documents submitted for recording must comply with certain requirements. The Humboldt County Recorder’s basic recording requirements are as follows:

1. Original Signature Required – Requires original signatures on all instruments, papers or notices presented for recording except as otherwise provided by law. A certified copy is also acceptable.

2. All-Purpose Acknowledgment – Any California notary public or other officer taking acknowledgments in California must complete the California all-purpose notary acknowledgment.

3. Legibility – Documents presented for recording must be sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable photographic copy. This includes notary seals and any attachments or exhibits.

4. Cover Page – If the first page of the document does not have required space for the recording information, a separate page or cover sheet (pdf) Opens a New Window. must be attached to the front of the document. This cover sheet must show the name of the party requesting the recording, where to mail the document after it is recorded and the title or titles of the document. Recording fees will be charged for this page.

5. Document Titles – All documents submitted for recording must indicate the title or titles of the documents contained therein. Titles should appear on the first page, directly below the space reserved for the Recorder.

6. Recording Reference Number Required – Any document that modifies, releases or cancels the provisions of a previously recorded document must contain the recording reference number of that prior document.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Humboldt County?

Page Size: All documents must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size. A fee will be charged for each page that is not 8 1/2″ x 11″.

Page Margins: All documents submitted for recording must have at least a 1/2″ margin along each vertical side. In addition, the top 2 1/2″ of the first page or sheet must be reserved for recording information. The left 3 1/2″ of this space is used to show the name of the party requesting the recording and where to mail the document after it is recorded.

How can I make payment to the Humboldt County Recorder?

All applicable fees must be paid at the time of recording. Payment may be made in cash, personal check, cashier’s check or money order payable to the Humboldt County Recorder. Note that the County Recorder does not accept credit or debit cards as a form of payment.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Humboldt County?

The Humboldt County Recorder’s basic recording fee is $13.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Non-conforming document penalty: $3.00 for all documents which are not single sided and 8 1/2 by 11”

Penalty print (Over 22 characters per inch or < 8pt font Totaling
9 lines or more): $1.00 per page

Indexing Fees: $1.00 per reference after the first

$1.00 per each set of 10 names after the first

Release of government lien: $11.00 for the first page, $3.00 for each additional page

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $2.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each subsequent page
Conformed Copy: $2.00
Certification Fee: $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Humboldt County's Recorders Office?

To obtain a recorded copy of your lien, you can visit the Recorder’s Office in person between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. excluding holidays and weekends.

The Recorder’s Office is located at:

825 5th Street
5th Floor
Eureka, CA 95501
(707) 445-7593

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Humboldt County, CA?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Humboldt County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a CA Preliminary Notice in Humboldt County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Humboldt County is $89.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Humboldt to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Lincoln Builders
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Core & Main
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
55 / 100
View
Garrison Walker Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Jrp Design And Remodel
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them