Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Gila County

No matter which county you’re in, you need to make sure you get everything right when filing a mechanics lien. At that, Arizona lien laws are strict, and getting to know your county recorder is one of the best ways to get an idea for everything you need to file. This page centers on the Gila County Recorder, and you can find information regarding Gila County Recorder’s recording requirements, page size and margin requirements, payment methods, recording fees, and much more.

Here are a few key points of Arizona lien law to help you get started in your research:

  1. You must file a preliminary notice to preserve your lien rights. That is, if you furnished materials and labor for a project be have left unpaid after its completion, you need to submit a Preliminary “20 day” Notice to the owner before you file a lien.
  2. If you’re unlicensed, you may not have the right to file. Contractors in Arizona who are required to be licensed but aren’t can’t file mechanics liens.
  3. Lastly, If you aren’t contracted with the owner, you mat not have the right to file.

Below is relevant information about the Gila County Recorder’s Office.

Where is the Gila Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person or by mail.

In Person

You can submit your documents for recording to any of these Gila County Recorder’s office locations in person at the following addresses:

Globe Main Office
Gila County Courthouse
1400 E Ash St
Globe, AZ 85501
Phone (928) 402-8740
Fax (928) 425-9270

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00am – 5:00pm

Satellite Office Payson
201 W Frontier St
Payson, AZ 85541
Phone (928) 474-7198
Fax (928) 472-5346

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00am – 5:00pm
Closed 12:00pm – 1:00pm

By Mail

You can also mail your documents for recording to:

Globe Main Office
Gila County Courthouse
1400 E Ash St
Globe, AZ 85501

Note that the County Recorder’s office is unable to assist with the preparation of your document or provide forms.

What is Gila County's Recording Backlog?

The Gila County Recorder does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. If the document meets the form requirements, and “is a document required to be recorded” and the proper fees have been paid, the County Recorder’s office will accept your document and assign it a unique recording number and make it a matter of permanent public record by imaging the document. They send an image of your document to a microfilm copy to be put on microfilm. The data entry department will key the pertinent information to create an index so that you may locate this document in the future. This typically takes 10 to 15 working days. Your original document will be returned to the address typed on the document. This typically takes 2 to 3 weeks.If the original document is ever lost or misplaced, a certified copy may be obtained from our office.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Gila County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Gila county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Gila County Recorder’s office.

What are Gila County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Gila County Recorder’s recording requirements are as follows:

ARS § 11-480: The document must be legible enough to create a clear, reproducible copy from the microfiche image. 10 point (not font) type is required by law.If the original is clear but below 10 point type, you may provide enlarged pages to record with your original. Do not forget to add the additional pages to your total number when figuring the recording fees. The first page shall have a top margin of 2” and is reserved for recordation and return address information. Documents shall be no smaller than 8-1/2” x 11” and no larger than 8-1/2” x 14”.
ARS § 11-1133: Document must have original signatures and notary seal, copies are not accepted.

ARS § 11-1134: Documents creating a transfer of ownership require either an Affidavit of Property Value or notation of applicable exemption code.

Any document which modifies or affects a previously recorded document or referencing a recorded document must reference it by recording number.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Gila County?

All documents submitted for recording must be no smaller than 8-1/2” x 11” and no larger than 8-1/2” x 14”. The first page must have a top margin of 2” and is reserved for recording and return address information.

How can I make payment to the Gila County Recorder?

Make checks payable to: Gila County Recorder. Note that $25.00 will be charged on returned checks. Return postage is included in the base fee. Self-Addressed Stamped Envelopes are not required. The inclusion of a self-addressed envelope will not affect the base fee.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Gila County?

The Gila County Recorder’s document recording fee is $30.00.

Copy Fees

Copies of Documents: $1.00 per page
Certification Fee: $3.00 for each document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Gila County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien by visiting the Gila County Recorder’s office in person or by submitting a request in writing.

You can search the County Recorder’s Official Records online.

The grantor/grantee index provided for you on the web site will enable you to search public records for the Gila County Recorder’s official records from 1985 to present, with images available from 1998 to present. Legal descriptions are provided as a courtesy and are not verified information.

Official copies are available upon request. Request for copies should be in writing accompanied by advance payment, as well as self-addressed, stamped envelope for the return of the copies.
For more information, you can call the County Recorder’s office at (928) 402-8740

For official copies or certified copies of documents or inquiries on documents prior to 1985, visit the County Recorder’s office located at:

1400 E Ash St. Globe Arizona 85501
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday.

Copies are $1.00 per page. If you want a certified copy, it will be an additional $3.00. If mailing your request, enclose a self addressed stamped envelope or add an additional $1.00 for mailing purposes.
Documents sent by mail must be mailed to the Globe Office at the following address:

Globe Main Office
Gila County Courthouse
1400 E Ash St
Globe, AZ 85501

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Gila, Arizona?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Gila, AZ depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Arizona. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Gila County, AZ.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Arizona Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file an Arizona Preliminary Notice in Gila County?

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Gila County?

Once a Notice of Completion or Cessation has been filed by the property owner, contractors have 60 days to record a mechanics lien. Additionally, contractors have 120 days to file after the completion of the work of improvement.

In Arizona, and in Gila County, the time to file a mechanics lien is triggered by the completion of improvements, not the last furnishing of labor and/or materials for a project.